Panorama John Amos Power Plant

2012 Energy Summit Presentations

Energy experts gather annually to participate in the energy summit which is sponsored by the West Virginia Governor's Office, the West Virginia Department of Commerce and the Southern States Energy Board. The 2012 summit was held at the Charleston Marriott Town Center Monday, December 10, 2012.

Introduction of Keith Burdette, Cabinet Secretary of West Virginia Department of Commerce

Jeff Herholdt

KEYNOTE: The Importance of Energy to Manufacturing

Steven B. Hedrick

State Energy Plan Recommendations

Fossil Energy Opportunities for West Virginia"
Tom Witt, Former Director,
Bureau of Business and Economic Research, WVU
Energy Opportunities: Renewables"
Cal Kent, Former Vice President,
Business and Economic Research, Marshall University
Energy Opportunities: Solar, Wind, Energy Efficiency"
Christy Risch, Director of Research,
Center for Business and Economic Research, Marshall University

Fiscal Impact of Energy Industries on the West Virginia Economy

Mark Muchow, Deputy Secretary, Department of Tax and Revenue

Energy and Natural Resource Litigation

David M. Flannery, Jackson Kelly, PLLC

Impacts of EPA Clean Air Regulations on Coal and Electricity

Gene Trisko, American Coalition for Clean Coal Electricity

Marcellus Development in West Virginia

Scott Rotruck, Vice President, Corporate Development & Government Relations, Chesapeake Energy Corporation

West Virginia Natural Gas Vehicles Task Force

Chris Weikle, Office of Gov. Tomblin,
Deputy Director of Policy

Energy Speaks

Susan Lavenski, Just Beneath the Surface Alliance

A Utility Perspective on Coal Utilization and West Virginia's Electric Infrastructure

Jim Haney, Vice President,
Compliance and Regulated Services, FirstEnergy

Longview - An Advanced Supercritical Power Plant

Charles Huguenard, Senior Vice President and GM,
Longview Power, LLC

West Virginia Environmental Perspective

Gary Thompson, Energy Education, WVU-Parkersburg

Solar Energy Installations in West Virginia

Mike McKechnie, Principal, Mountain View Solar


Steve Kominar, Executive Director,
Mingo County Re-Development Authority

Carbon Dioxide Enhanced Oil Recovery

Phil DiPietro, Office of Strategic Energy Analysis and Planning, NETL

Charleston, WV
Charleston, WV